Dear Tastebuds (part two)

Dear Tastebuds,

You and I have had quite the tumultuous relationship. In fact, I began this blog by writing a letter to you requesting that you return home after you had left in a fit of rage.  This letter is different, however.  In this letter, I’d like to kindly ask that you back off.

I try to treat you right.  I really do.  Yes, there is the occasional boiling ginger tea incident.  And, yes, over the years I have subjected you to the horrors of various curries, jalapeños, homemade sports drinks, and most recently, about half a teaspoon of straight citric acid.  But, none of these actions deserve the treatment I am currently receiving.

Your growing sensitivity to salt is something I can no longer handle.  I am now unable to eat any food that has been over-salted and eating fast food has become a bit of a chore.  Anything that is a little high in its sodium content now seems to be inedible to me.

I ask that you calm down and allow me to eat salty food if need be.  I am not asking to be able to do this all the time; I just need to be able to swallow some food if it happens to be saltier than usual.

Thank you in advance for complying to my demands.

Sincerely,

Chelsea

About Chelsea

"Hey, they say you're a natural. True or false?" "I just..." "Answer the question." "True, I guess." "Correct." -Ash and Kristofferson (Fantastic Mr. Fox) I allegedly have a way with words. I'm testing this theory. Right. Now. View all posts by Chelsea

You must be logged in to post a comment.

