Dear Christmas-Eve-Day Shoppers

Dear Christmas-Eve-Day Shoppers, I understand that various circumstances have thrust you into the unfortunate position of last-minute shopping. I respect those circumstances and everything you have gone through. However, I think I speak for all members of any customer-service-based operation when I say this: I am not to blame for your stress. I have been here all season, helping customers find items. Today begins the eighth day in a row that I have worked. I’ve been pulling full-time hours when I’m a part-time employee. I have been helpful and nice and will continue to be so through closing hours today. Considering all of that, please keep in mind that whatever circumstances put you in this understandably stressful position-be it a forgetful spouse, a tyrannical employer, a late paycheck or simple laziness-were not caused by me or any of my fellow employees. Therefore, I’m requesting hours before my work day begins that you act nice and cheerful and friendly. Or at least refrain from being rude.

And please don’t do that thing where you talk to me like I’m not a human being. I haven’t had that happen in awhile, and I’d prefer for things to stay that way.

I thank you for listening to my request. Have a wonderful Christmas!

Sincerely,
Chelsea

About Chelsea

"Hey, they say you're a natural. True or false?" "I just..." "Answer the question." "True, I guess." "Correct." -Ash and Kristofferson (Fantastic Mr. Fox) I allegedly have a way with words. I'm testing this theory. Right. Now. View all posts by Chelsea

2 responses to “Dear Christmas-Eve-Day Shoppers

  • Melissa

    Dear people who use the term, “Christmas-Eve-Day”,

    You must realize that such a term is an oxymoron and furthermore, makes absolutely no sense. Allow me to expound. “Eve” is a commonly used shortened version of the word “evening”, which is generally accepted to begin at the hour of 6:00 p.m. which is, coincidentally, the same time that “day” is coming to a close. Proper English usage would dictate that we refer to the early part of December 24th as “The Day Before Christmas”, and save the term “Christmas Eve” for the glorious evening hours which are lit by the lights of wonderful trees and enjoyed by time with family and wrapping of last minute gifts. Thank you for understanding this. And have a wonderful Christmas!!

    Sincerely,
    Melissa

    • Chelsea

      Dear Melissa,

      Blast. I was hoping no one would catch that. Of course, I forgot that you read my blog.

      I am going to stubbornly opt to stick with my lifelong habit of referring to the day before Christmas as “Christmas Eve Day”. I like it better.

      Merry Christmas!

      Sincerely,
      Chelsea

You must be logged in to post a comment.

